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Continuing Medical Education

Board-by-Board Overview
CME Number of Hours and
STATE  Required Category/Content Requirement Statute/Rule /Regulation
AL YES 25 hours per year; all must be AMA PRA Category 1. | Ala. Admin. Code r. 540-x-14.02.
AK YES 50 hours every 2 years; all must be AMA Category 1 | Alaska Admin. Code tit. 12, § 40.200.

or AOA Category 1 or 2

Physician may not be exempted from more than 15 | Alaska Statutes § 8-64-312.
hours of continuing education in a five-year period.
AZ-M YES 40 hours every 2 years Ariz. Admin. Code R4-16-102
AZ-O YES 40 hours every 2 years; 12 must be AOA Category 1- | Ariz. Admin. Code R4-22-207.
A and no more than eight hours are obtained annually
by completing a CME classified by the ACCME as
Category 1.
AR YES 20 hours per year. Fifty percent of said hours shall be | Code Ark. R. 060.00.001 Reg. No. 17.
in subjects pertaining to physician’s primary area of
(current) practice and designated as Category 1.
CA-M YES 50 Hours of approved CME during each biennial Cal. Code Reg. tit. 16, §13306.
renewal cycle (every two years). If an initial license
was issued for less than 13 months, only 25 hours
must be completed. All must be Category 1 approved.

All physicians (except pathologists and radiologists) Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § Sec. 2190.5.
are required to take, as a one-time requirement, 12
units on pain-management and the appropriate care
and treatment of the terminally ill. Physicians must
complete this requirement by their second license
renewal date or within four years, whichever comes
first.

General internists and family physicians which have | Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § Sec. 2190.3.
over 25 % of the patient population at least 65 years
of age are required to complete at least 20 percent of
their mandatory CME in the field of geriatric
medicine.

CA-O YES 150 hours within a 3 year period; minimum of 60 16 Cal. Admin. Code § 1635.
hours must be AOA Category 1-A or 1-B.

All physicians (except pathologists and radiologists) | Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § Sec. 2190.5.
are required to take, as a one-time requirement, 12
units on pain-management and the appropriate care
and treatment of the terminally ill. Physicians must
complete this requirement by their second license
renewal date or within four years, whichever comes
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CME Number of Hours and

STATE Requited Category/Content Requirement Statute/Rule /Regulation
first.

General internists and family physicians which have | Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § Sec. 2190.3.
over 25 % of the patient population at least 65 years
of age are required to complete at least 20 percent of
their mandatory CME in the field of geriatric
medicine.

CO NO - -

CT YES 50 contact hours within the preceding twenty-four Conn. Gen. Stat. § 20-10(b).
month period in an area of the physician’s practice.

In the first renewal period for which CME is required
(the second license renewal), and once every six years
after that, a physician must take at least one contact
hour of training or education in each of the following
topics: infectious diseases, risk management, sexual
assault, domestic violence, and behavior health. 1
hour cultural competency also required.

The commissioner may grant a waiver for not more
than 10 contact hours of CME for physicians who 1)
engage in activities related to the physician’s service as
a member of the Connecticut Medical Examining
Board; 2) engages in activities related to the
physician’s service as a member of a medical hearing
panel; or 3) assists the departments with its duties to
boards and commissions as described in section 19a-
14.

DE YES 40 hours every 2 years; all must be Category 1 24 Del. Admin. Code 1700-22.0.
10§ YES 50 hours every 2 years; all must be Category 1 D.C. Mun. Regs. tit.17, § 4615.

Physicians, physician assistants and nurses must D.C. Oftficial Code § 3-1205.10.
complete 3 credits of instruction on HIV and AIDS.
FL-M YES 40 First time license renewal: 1 hour of HIV/AIDS, |Fla. Admin. Code. Ann. r. 64B8-13.005;

2 hours prevention of medical errors. 64B8-45.001, 64B8-45.006, 64B8-9.0131.

Second and subsequent renewals require 40 hours
including 2 hours in prevention of medical errors.

Every third renewal requires 40 hours, including two
hours in prevention of medical errors and two hours
in domestic violence. Fla. Admin. Code. Ann. r. 64B8-9.0131.
CME requirements for physicians prescribing or
dispensing controlled substance medications in
registered pain-management clinics.

FL-O YES First time renewal: 40 hours; Five hours to include Fla. Admin. Code. Ann. r. 64B15-13.001.
one hour in each of the following topics: 1) Risk
Management, Florida Laws and Rules, laws regarding
the use and abuses of controlled substances; Two
hours in Prevention of Medical Errors. Beginning in
the 2010-2012 licensure biennium, five of the CME
hours must include one hour in each of the following
topics: 1) professional and medical ethics education,
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CME Number of Hours and

STATE Requited Category/Content Requirement Statute/Rule /Regulation
Florida laws and rules, federal and state laws related
to the prescribing of controlled substances; Two

hours required in the Prevention of Medical Errors.

Every third biennial renewal, licensee shall complete a
two hour domestic violence coutt.

Licensee must complete a one hour HIV/AIDS
course no later than upon the first biennial renewal of
licensure.

* Twenty (20) hours of general, AOA Category 1-A
CE related to the practice of osteopathic medicine or
under osteopathic auspices

* Two (2) hours of Domestic Violence as part of
every third biennium renewal (or every six years)

* Thirteen (13) or fifteen (15) hours of general, AOA
or AMA approved CE; thirteen (13) if you are due to
take the two (2) hours of Domestic Violence CE and
fifteen (15) if you are not

GA YES 40 hours every 2 years; all must be Category 1 Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 360-15-.01.
GU YES 100 hours every 2 years; 25% must be Category 1 25 GAR Prof. & Voc. Regs §
11101(2)(9).
HI YES 40 category 1 CME hours and 60 category 2 CME Haw. Admin. R. §16-85-33.
hours; or, 100 category 1 CME hours
ID YES 40 Hours every 2 years; all must be Category 1 Idaho Admin. Code 1. 22.01.01-079.01.

The Board may accept certification or recertification | Idaho Admin. Code r. 22.01.01-079.01.
by a member of ABMS, the AOA or the Royal
College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in lieu
of compliance with CME requirements during the
cycle in which the certification or recertification is

granted.
IL YES 150 hours every 3 years; 60 hours must be Category 1 | Ill. Admin. Code tit.68., § 1285.110.
IN NO -- -
IA YES 40 hours every 2 years; may include up to 20 hours of | Iowa Admin. Code r. 653-11.4(1).

credit carried over from the previous license period.

A licensee who regularly provides primary health care
to children must complete two hours of training in
child abuse identification in the previous five years.
A primary care provider must complete two hours of
training in dependent adult abuse identification and
reporting in the previous five years.

The Board will accept as equivalent to 50 hours of Iowa Admin. Code r. 653-11.2(2).
category 1 activity, participation in an approved
resident training program or board certification or
recertification by an ABMS or AOA specialty board
within the licensing period.

Iowa-licensed physicians who provide primary care Iowa Admin. Code r. 653-11.4(272C).
must complete two hours of Category 1 training for
chronic pain management and two hours of Category
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CME Number of Hours and

STATE Requited Category/Content Requirement Statute/Rule /Regulation
1 training for end-of-life care every five years.
KS YES Licensee must during the 18-month period preceding | Kan. Admin. Regs. § 100-15-5.

the expiration date, verify completion of at least 50
credits of continuing education, at least 20 in category
1; during the 30-month period preceding the
expiration date, verify completion of at least 100
credits of continuing education, at least 40 in
category; or during the 42-month period preceding
the expiration date, verify completion of at least 150
credits of continuing education, at least 60 in
category.

KY YES 60 hours every 3 years; 30 must be Category 1; One- | 201 KAR 9:310.
time domestic violence course for primary care
physicians; a minimum of 2 hours must be acquired
once every 10 years in HIV/AIDS education; For
each three (3) year continuing education cycle
beginning on January 1, 2015, at least four and one-
half (4.5) houts of approved continuing education
hours relating to the use of KASPER, pain
management, addiction disorders, or a combination of
two (2) or more of those subjects for licensees who
are authorized to presctibe or dispense controlled
substances within the Commonwealth

LA YES 20 hours per year; all must be Category 1; One-time | La. Admin. Code tit. 46, pt. XLV, §§ 435.
board orientation course to acquaint new licensees
with the Louisiana Medical Practice Act, the function
of the Board and its rules, opportunities available in
rural and professional health shortage areas, etc.

ME-M YES 100 hours every 2 years; 40 must be Category 1 Code Me. R 02-373 Ch.1 § 8.

ME-O YES 100 hours every 2 years; 40 must be osteopathic Code Me. R. 02-383 Ch. 14 {§ 1-2.
medical education; primary care physicians: all must
be AOA Category 1; osteopathic specialists: all must
be AOA, ACGME, or AMA Category 1

)\%00; YES 50 hours every 2 years; all must be Category 1 COMAR 10.32.01.09.

MA YES 100 hours every 2 years; 40 must be Category 1; Not | 243 Code Mass. Regs. 2.06(5).
more than 60 credits can be Category 2; 10 must be in
the area of Risk Management, 2 hours on study of
Board’s regulations

Licensees must participate in at least two credits of 243 Code Mass. Regs. 2.06(b).
Category 1 or 2 CPD studying end-of-life care issues
as a condition for renewal, revival or reinstatement of
licensure. End-of-life care studies may be used to
satisfy the risk management requirement.

Licensees must complete three credits of opioid 243 Code Mass. Regs 2.06(d).
education and pain management training as a
condition for renewal. Opioid education and pain
management training may be used toward a licensee’s
required risk management credits of continuing
professional education.

Pain Management Training. Applicants who prescribe | M.G.L. c. 94C, § 18; 243 CMR 2.00.

©2015 by Federation of State Medical Boards of the United States


Owner
Highlight

Owner
Highlight

Owner
Highlight


CME

Number of Hours and

STATE Required

MI-M

MI-O
MN
MS
MO

MT
NE

NV-M

NV-O

Category/Content Requirement
controlled substances shall, as a prerequisite to
obtaining or renewing a medical license, complete
appropriate pain management training and opioid
education. Pain Management training shall consist of
at least three credits of Board-approved continuing
professional development and may be used toward
the required ten credits of risk management training.

EHR: As of January 1, 2015, an applicant or licensee
shall obtain at least three credits of training in
electronic health records prior to licensure or
relicensure, and these credits may be used toward the
required ten credits of risk management training.

Statute/Rule /Regulation

243 Mass. Code Regs. 2.02.

YES

150 hours every 3 years; 75 must be Category 1 or 6;

Mich. Admin. Code r. 338.2371-.2382.

YES

150 hours every 3 years; 60 must be Category 1 or 3

Mich. Admin. Code r. 338.91-.99.

YES

75 hours every 3 years; all must be Category 1

Minnesota Rules, part 5605.0100-.1200.

YES

40 hours every 2 years; all must be Category 1

Code Miss. Rules 50 013 001.

YES

50 hours every 2 years; all must be AMA Category 1
or AOA Category 1A or 2A; or 40 hours Category 1
or AOA Category 1A with proof of post-testing

Mo. Code Regs. Ann. Tit. 20, 2150-
2.125.

NO

YES

50 hours every 2 years; all must be Category 1

Neb. Admin. R. & Regs. Tit. 172, Ch. 88,
§ 016.

YES

40 hours every 2 years; 20 hours must be in scope of
practice of specialty; 2 must be in medical ethics, 18
may be any Category 1; New applicants require 4
hours in WMD /bioterrorism

Chapter 630 of NRS is hereby amended by adding
thereto a new section to read as follows:

1. The Board shall not issue or renew a license to
practice as a physician, physician assistant or
perfusionist unless the applicant for issuance or
renewal of the license attests to knowledge of and
compliance with the guidelines of the Centers

for Disease Control and Prevention concerning the
prevention of transmission of infectious agents
through safe and appropriate injection practices.

2. In addition to the attestation provided pursuant to
subsection 1, a physician shall attest that any person:
(a) Who is under the control and supervision of the
physician;

(b) Who is not licensed pursuant to this chapter; and
(c) Whose duties involve injection practices, has
knowledge of and is in compliance with the guidelines
of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
concerning the prevention of transmission of
infectious agents through safe and appropriate
injection practices.

Nev. Rev. Stat. 630.253; Nev. Admin.
Code ch. 630, s. 153, 154, 155.

YES

Proof to the board that renewal applicant has

Nev. Admin. Code § 633.250.
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CME Number of Hours and

STATE Requited Category/Content Requirement Statute/Rule /Regulation
attended at least 35 hours of continuing education
courses or programs approved by the Board during
the preceding year, at least 10 hours of which are
category 1A courses.

“Category 1A course” means a course of continuing
medical education that is offered by a sponsor
accredited to offer such a course by the American
Osteopathic Association or the Accreditation Council
for Continuing Medical Education.

As part of the biennial continuing education
requirements for an osteopathic physician, the Board
will requires at least 2 hours of continuing education
credits in ethics, pain management, or addiction care.
The Board will add this requirement on every odd
year renewal application.

NH YES 100 hours of approved continuing medical education | N.H. Rev. Stat. § 329:16-g; N.H. Admin.
(CME) requirements every 2 years, 40 hours of which | R. Ann. Med 402.01.

shall be in Category 1, and no more than 60 credit
hours of which shall be in Category 11.

NJ YES 100 hours every 2 years; 40 must be Category 1; 60 N.J. Stat. Ann. § 45:9-7.1; N.J. Admin.
hours can be Category 1I; 6 hours Cultural Code 13:35-6.15.

competence (for physicians licensed prior to
3/2/2005, the cultural competence hours are in
addition to 100 hour requirement)

For newly licensed physicians, the Board requires
attendance at an orientation program; no CME credit.
NM-M YES 75 hours every 3 years; all must be Category 1. N.M. Admin. Code § 16.10.4.

Between November 1, 2012 and no later than June N.M. Admin. Code § 16.10.14.
30, 2014, all NM medical board licensees who hold a
federal drug enforcement administration registration
and licensure to prescribe opioids, shall complete no
less than five (5) CME hours in appropriate courses
that shall include:
e An understanding of the pharmacology and
risks of controlled substances,
e 2 basic awareness of the problems of abuse,
addiction and diversion,
e awareness of state and federal regulations for
the prescription of controlled substances,
e management of the treatment of pain, and
e courses may also include a review of NMAC
16.10.14 the applicability of such courses
toward fulfillment of the continuing medical
education requirement is subject to medical
board approval. Practitioners who have taken
continuing medical education hours in these
educational elements between July 1, 2011
and November 1, 2012, may apply those
hours toward the required five continuing
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CME

Number of Hours and

STATE Required

NM-O

NY
NC

ND
OH

OK-M
(0) (€0

OR

Category/Content Requirement
medical education hours described in this
subsection.

Beginning with the July 1, 2014 triennial renewal date,
all NM medical board physician licensees who hold a
federal drug enforcement administration registration
and license to prescribe opioids shall be required to
complete and submit five (5) CME hours.

All new licensees holding a federal drug enforcement
administration registration and license shall complete
five (5) CME hours in pain management during the
first year of licensure.

Statute/Rule /Regulation

N.M. Admin. Code § 16.10.14.

N.M. Admin. Code § 16.10.14.

YES 75 hours every 3 years; all must be Category 1 N.M. Admin. Code tit. 16, § 17.4.
YES* Infection control, child abuse N.Y. Comp. Codes, R. & Regs. tit. 8, §§
59.12, 59.13.
YES 60 category 1 credits N.C. Admin. Code tit. 21, r. 32R.0101.
YES 60 hours every 3 years; all must be Category 1 N.D. Admin. Code 50-04-01-01.
YES 100 hours every 2 years; 40 hours must be Category 1 | Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 4731.281, 282,
283; Ohio Admin. Code §§ 4731-10-01
Section 4731-29-01(B) through 4731-10-15; Ohio Admin. Code
(1) Physician owner/operators of pain management | § 4731-29-01.
clinics must complete at least twenty hours of
category I continuing medical education in pain
medicine every two years, to include one or more
courses addressing the potential for addiction. The
courses completed in compliance with this rule shall
be accepted toward meeting the category I
requirement for certificate of registration renewal for
the physician.
YES 60 hours every 3 years; all must be Category 1 Okla. Admin. Code § 435:10-15-1.
YES 16 hours every year; all must be AOA Category 1-A | Okla. Admin. Code § 435:10-3-8.
or 1-B; 1 hour every other year on prescribing,
dispensing, and administering of controlled
substances
YES 60 hours every 2 years, or 30 hours if licensed during | Or. Admin. R § 847-008-0070;

the second year of the biennium. All AMA Category
1; AOA Category 1-A or 2-A

All licensees of the Oregon Medical Board (except
licensee holding Lapsed, Limited, Telemedicine,
Teleradiology, or Telemonitoring licenses) must
complete a 1 hour pain management course; a
minimum of 6 CME credit hours in the subject of
pain management and/or the treatment of terminally
ill and dying patients. Any combination of CME
coutsework focusing on pain management and/or
treatment of terminally ill and dying patients may be
used to fulfill this requirement.

Participation in cultural competency education may be
counted toward the mandatory continuing education
required of all Board licensees.

Or. Admin. R. § 847-008-0075(1).

Or. Admin. R. § 847-008-0070.

©2015 by Federation of State Medical Boards of the United States



Owner
Highlight

Owner
Highlight

Owner
Highlight

Owner
Highlight


CME Number of Hours and

STATE Requited Category/Content Requirement Statute/Rule /Regulation
PA-M YES 100 hours every 2 years; 20 hours must be Category 1; | Pa. Code tit. 49, § 16.19.
12 hours of patient safety or risk management;
remaining hours either Category 1 or 2

PA-O YES 100 hours every 2 years; 20 hours must be Category 1; | Pa. Code tit. 49, § 25.271.
12 hours of patient safety or risk management;
remaining hours either Category 1 or 2

PR YES 60 hours every 3 years; 40 must be Category 1 -

RI YES 40 hours every 2 years; all must be Category 1; 2 Code R.I. R. 1. 14.140.031(0).
hours on universal precautions, infection control,
modes of transmission, bioterrorism, end of life
education, palliative care, OHSA, ethics, or pain
management
SC YES 40 hours every 2 years; all must be Category 1; at least | SC Code § 40-47-40; S.C. Code Regs. 81-
thirty hours of which must be related directly to the | 95.
licensee's practice area and at least two (2) hours must
be related to approved procedures for prescribing and
monitoring schedules 11, 111, and IV controlled

substances.

SD NO - -

TN-M YES 40 hours every 2 years; all must be Category 1; at least | Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0880-2-.19.
1 of 40 on prescribing practices; providers of
intractable pain treatment must have specialized CME | Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0880-02-.14.
in pain management

TN-O YES 40 hours every 2 years; all must be AOA 1-A or 2-A; | Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1050-2-.12.
1 hour on prescribing practices

TX YES 48 credits of continuing medical education (CME) TX Occupations Code §§ 156.051
every 24 months. CME credits must be completed in | through 156.057; Tex. Admin. Code tit.
the following categories: 22, §166.2.

(1) At least 24 credits every 24 months are to be from
formal courses that are:

(A) designated for AMA/PRA Category 1 credit by a
CME sponsor accredited by the Accreditation
Council for Continuing Medical Education or a state
medical society recognized by the Committee for
Review and Recognition of the Accreditation Council
for Continuing Medical Education;

(B) approved for prescribed credit by the American
Academy of Family Physicians;

(C) designated for AOA Category 1-A credit required
for osteopathic physicians by an accredited CME
sponsor approved by the American Osteopathic
Association;

(D) approved by the Texas Medical Association based
on standards established by the AMA for its
Physician's Recognition Award; or

(E) approved by the board for medical ethics and/or
professional responsibility courses only.

(2) At least two of the 24 formal credits of CME
which are required by paragraph (1) of this subsection
must involve the study of medical ethics and/or
professional responsibility. Whether a particular credit
of CME involves the study of medical ethics and/or
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CME Number of Hours and
STATE Requited Category/Content Requirement Statute/Rule /Regulation
professional responsibility shall be determined by the
organizations which are enumerated in paragraph (1)
of this subsection as part of their course planning,
(3) The remaining 24 credits for the 24-month period
may be composed of informal self-study, attendance
at hospital lectures, grand rounds, or case conferences
not approved for formal CME, and shall be recorded
in a manner that can be easily transmitted to the
board upon request.

Rule 195.4 operation of mgmt clinics subsection e -
CME related to pain mgmt for those working
(practicing) in a pain clinic

UT-M YES 40 hours every 2 years; 34 must be ACCME Category | Utah Admin. Code r. 156-67-304.
1; 6 hours maximum may come from the Division of
Occupational & Professional Licensing

UT-0 YES 40 hours every 2 years; 34 must be ACCME Category | Utah Admin. Code r. 156-68-304.
1; 6 hours maximum may come from the Division of
Occupational & Professional Licensing

VT-M YES 30 hours wherein 1 hour must be on hospice, 12-5 Vt. Code R. § 200.
palliative care, and/or pain management setvices.

For each licensee who holds or has applied for a
DEA number, at least 1 CME hour must be on safe
and effective prescribing of controlled substances.

VT-O YES 30 hours every 2 years; 40% must be osteopathic Code Vt. R. 04 030 220.
medical education

VI YES 25 hours every year; all must be Category 1 VI Code 27 § 38d.

VA YES 60 hours every 2 years; 30 must be Category 1 Va. Admin. Code 85-20-235.

WA-M YES 200 hours every 4 years WAC 246-919-421-480.

The following are categories of creditable continuing | WAC 246-919-450.
medical education activities approved by
the commission:

e Category I Continuing medical education
activities with accredited sponsorship

e  Category 1l Continuing medical education
activities with non-accredited sponsorship
(maximum of eighty hours)

e  Category Il Teaching of physicians or other
allied health professionals (maximum of
eighty hours)

e  Category IV Books, papers, publications,
exhibits (maximum of eighty hours)

e Category V Self-directed activities: Self-
assessment, self-instruction, specialty board
examination preparation, quality of care
and/or utilization review (maximum of eighty

hours.
WA-O YES 150 hours every 3 years; 60 must be Category 1 Wash. Admin. Code §§246-853-060, 246-
853-070, 246-853-080.
WV-M YES 50 hours every 2 years; all must be Category 1. One- |W. Va. R. tit. 11, § 6-2; W. Va. Code, §
time requirement of 2 hours on end of life care 30-1-7a.
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CME Number of Hours and
STATE Requited Category/Content Requirement Statute/Rule /Regulation
including pain management; 30 hours in physician’s
designated specialty.
Beginning May 1, 2014, unless a physician certifies
that he or she has not prescribed, administered, or
dispensed a controlled substance during the entire
previous reporting period, every physician must
complete a minimum of three (3) hours of drug
diversion training and best practice prescribing of
controlled substances training as a condition of
licensure renewal (proposed rule, § 11-6-1).
WV-O YES 32 hours every 2 years; 50% must be Category 1 or W. Va. Code R. § 24-1-15; W. Va. Code,
CME hours in standard heart saver courses; One-time | § 30-1-7a; W. Va. Code R. § 24-1-15.2.¢g.
requirement of 2 hours on end-of-life care including
pain management; 30 hours in physician’s designated

specialty.

Physicians prescribing controlled substances must
have completed 3 hours of CME on drug diversion
and best practice prescribing from a CME program
approved by the WV Board of Osteopathic Medicine.
These 3 hours must be completed prior to the June
2014 license renewal period to meet the license
renewal requirement and, every renewal period
thereafter.

End-of-life CME requirements will expire on July 1,

2012.
WI YES 30 hours every 2 years; all must be Category 1. Wis. Admin. Code MED § 13.02.
WY YES 60 hours every 3 years; all must be Category 1. WY Rules & Regulations Al BM Ch. 1s
5.
Northern REEN 25 hours annually; all must be Category 1. http://www.cnmilaw.org/pdf/public la
Mariana ws/07/pl07-48.pdf.

Islands

*Jurisdiction requires content-specific CME.

For informational purposes only: This document is not intended as a comprebensive statement of the law on this topic, nor to be relied upon as anthoritative.
Non-cited laws, regulation, and/ or policy conld impact analysis on a case-by-case or state-by-state basis. All information should be verified independently.
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WHY PRESCRIBER EDUCATION
IS IMPORTANT

Introduction




ASSESSING PATIENTS FOR
TREATMENT WITH ER/LA OPIOID
ANALGESIC THERAPY <y

Unit 1l



Standards for Prescribing or Dispensing ;‘
of Controlled Substances for Pain

Prior to initial prescribing of a controlled substance for pain or other
associated symptoms, the first physician prescribing or dispensing a
controlled substance shall:

Obtain an appropriate medical history relevant to the medical complaint,
including a history of present illness & if the complaint:

Does not relate to a psychiatric condition, conduct a physical exam of the patient
relevant to the medical complaint & related symptoms & document the info in the
patient's medical record; or

Relates to a psychiatric condition, perform, or have performed by a psychiatrist or
other mental health provider, an evaluation appropriate to the presenting complaint
& document the relevant findings

Obtain & review a KASPER report for the 12-month period preceding the

patient encounter, & utilize that info to evaluate & treat the patient

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled
substances. 2013. www.Irc ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm o . . . .
KASPER=Kentucky All Schedule Prescription Electronic Reporting Collaborative for REMS Education

E)



http://www.lrc.ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm

Standards for Prescribing or Dispensing ;‘
of Controlled Substances for Pain, Cont'd

After examining the benefits & risks of prescribing or dispensing a
controlled substance to the patient, including non-treatment or other
treatment, make a deliberate decision that it is medically appropriate to
prescribe or dispense the controlled substance in the amount specified

Not prescribe or dispense an ER/LA opioid for acute pain

Explain to the patient that a controlled substance used to treat an acute
complaint is for time-limited use, & that the patient should discontinue the
use of the controlled substance when the condition has resolved

Explain to the patient how to safely use & properly dispose of any unused
controlled substance

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled

substances. 2013. www.Irc ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm llab ive f d .
4 | ©CORE 2013 Collaborative for REMS Education

E)



http://www.lrc.ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm

Standards for Commencing Long-Term 2
Use of Controlled Substances for Pain

Before commencing to prescribe or dispense a controlled substance to a patient
>16 years for pain or other symptoms associated w/ the same primary medical

complaint for a period >3 months, the physician shall:

Obtain the following info from the patient & record it in the medical record:

 History of present illness

» Past medical history

 History of substance use & any prior treatment for that use by the patient, & history of
substance abuse by first degree relatives of the patient

 Past family history of relevant illnesses & treatment

» Psychosocial history

Conduct an appropriate physical exam sufficient to support medical indications

for long-term prescribing or dispensing a controlled substance

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled :‘\’ ,
®

substances. 2013. www.lrc.ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.ntm . .
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Standards for Commencing Long-Term 2
Use of Controlled Substances for Pain Cont'd

Perform appropriate baseline assessments to establish beginning values to
assist in establishing & periodically evaluating the functional goals of a
treatment plan

If a specific or specialized evaluation is necessary to formulate a working
diagnosis or treatment plan, only continue controlled substance use after

determining that continued use is safe & medically appropriate in the absence
of that info

If the patient previously received treatment for the presenting medical
complaint or related symptoms & review of the prior treatment records is
necessary to justify long-term prescribing of a controlled substance, obtain
those prior medical records & use the info to evaluate & treat the patient

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled :‘\’ ,
®

substances. 2013. www.Irc.ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm . .
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Standards for Commencing Long-Term
Use of Controlled Substances for Pain Cont'd

Working diagnosis:

Based upon consideration of all info available, promptly formulate &
document a working diagnosis of the source of the patient's medical
complaint & related symptoms without simply describing or listing the
related symptoms

If unable, despite best efforts, to formulate a working diagnosis, consider the
usefulness of additional info, such as a specialized evaluation or assessment,
referral to an appropriate specialist, & the usefulness of further observation &
evaluation, before attempting again to formulate a working diagnosis

If is unable to formulate a working diagnosis, despite the use of an appropriate
specialized evaluation or assessment, only prescribe long-term controlled
substance use after establishing that its use at a specific level is medically
indicated & appropriate

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled f‘\
substances. 2013. www.lrc.ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm Collaborative for REMS Education a ’,
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Standards for Commencing Long-Term 2
Use of Controlled Substances for Pain Cont'd

To the extent that functional improvement is medically expected based on the

patient's condition, the physician shall formulate an appropriate treatment plan

The treatment plan shall include specific & verifiable goals of treatment, w/ a schedule
for periodic evaluations

Utilize appropriate screening tools for each patient to determine if the patient:

* Is presently suffering from another medical condition which may impact the
prescribing or dispensing of a controlled substance; or
 Presents a significant risk for illegal diversion of a controlled substance

If, after screening, the physician determines that there is a:

Reasonable likelihood that the patient Risk that the patient may illegally divert a
suffers from substance abuse or controlled substance, but determines to
dependence, or a psychiatric or continue long-term prescribing, the
psychological condition, he/she shall physician shall use a prescribing agreement
facilitate a referral to an appropriate that meets professional standards. The
treatment program or provider & use that  prescribing agreement & informed consent
info to evaluate & treat the patient may be combined into 1 document
Eﬁg}t;;fl;ééd%i{gs.t\?vtviﬁrliékgg(\leaoti/olz]askTzigli %%% gggﬁﬁg 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional Sz‘ana’amé goligﬁz;/[;/:lgvfc./f Zipg)é/{\)ﬁ Smg:;ol/l/ic; tion @
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Standards for Commencing Long-Term
Use of Controlled Substances for Pain Cont'd

Obtain & document a baseline drug screen

If, after screening, it is determined that the prescribed controlled substance will
or is likely to be used other than medicinally or other than for an accepted
therapeutic purpose, do not prescribe any controlled substance to that patient

After explaining the risks & benefits of long-term use of a controlled substance,
the physician shall obtain the written informed consent of the patient in a
manner that meets professional standards

The physician shall initially attempt, to the extent possible, or establish &
document a previous attempt by another physician, of a trial of non-controlled
modalities & lower doses of a controlled substance in increasing order to treat
the pain & related symptoms, before continuing w/ long-term prescribing of a
controlled substance at a given level

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled ) ,
®

substances. 2013. www.lrc.ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm . .
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Standards for Documentation "

Professional standards for documentation of patient assessment,
education, treatment agreement & informed consent, action plans,
outcomes & monitoring

Each physician prescribing or dispensing a controlled substance shall obtain &
document all relevant info in a patient's medical record:

 In alegible manner

« In sufficient detail to enable the board to determine whether the physician is
conforming to professional standards for prescribing or dispensing controlled
substances & other relevant professional standards

If unable to conform to standards for prescribing or dispensing controlled
substances due to circumstances beyond your control, or professional
determination finds it is not appropriate to comply w/ a specific standard,

based on individual facts applicable to the patient's diagnosis & treatment,
document those circumstances in the patient's record & only utilize a
controlled substance if the patient record justifies it under the circumstances

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled f‘\
substances. 2013. www.lrc.ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm Collaborative for REMS Education a ,
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Standards for Continuing Long-Term ,‘
Prescribing of Controlled Substances for Pain

If a physician continues to prescribe or dispense a controlled substance beyond
3 months to a patient 216 years for pain & related symptoms:

See the patient at least once a month initially for evaluation & review of progress.
The patient may be evaluated less frequently, on a schedule determined by
professional judgment, after it is determined:

» The controlled substance has been titrated to the level appropriate & necessary to
treat the medical complaint & related symptoms

» The controlled substance is not causing unacceptable side effects

« Sufficient monitoring is in place to minimize the likelihood that the patient will use the
controlled substance in an improper manner or divert it for an improper use

At appropriate intervals:

« Obtain a current history from the patient
» Consider, & perform if appropriate, a focused physical exam
» Perform appropriate measurable exams as indicated in the treatment plan

substances. 2013. www Irc.ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm Collaborative for REMS Education

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled :‘\’ ,
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Standards for Continuing Long-Term
Controlled Substances for Pain Cont'd

At appropriate intervals, evaluate the working diagnosis & treatment plan based
upon the info gained to determine whether there has been functional improvement
or any change in baseline measures. Modify the diagnosis, treatment plan, or
controlled substance therapy, as appropriate

If the patient presents a significant risk of diversion or improper use of a controlled
substance, discontinue use or justify continued use in the patient record

If the medical complaint & related symptoms continue w/ no significant
improvement in function despite treatment w/ a controlled substance, & if
iImprovement is medically expected, obtain appropriate consultation to determine
whether there are undiagnosed conditions to be addressed in order to resolve the
medical complaint

For a patient exhibiting symptoms suggestive of a mood, anxiety, or psychotic
disorder, obtain a psychiatric or psychological consultation if appropriate

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled
substances. 2013. www.lIrc.ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm Collaborative for REMS Education
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Standards for Continuing Long-Term ;‘
Controlled Substances for Pain Cont'd

If a patient reports experiencing episodes of breakthrough pain (BTP), the

physician shall:

« Attempt to identify the trigger or triggers for each episode

» Determine whether the BTP may be adequately treated through non-controlled
treatment

« If the physician determines that the non-medication treatments do not adequately
address the triggers, & after considering the risks & benefits determines to add
an as-needed controlled substance to the regimen, take appropriate steps to
minimize improper or illegal use of the additional controlled substance

At least once a year, perform or ensure that the patient's primary treating

physician performs a preventive health screening & physical exam
appropriate to the patient's gender, age, & medical condition

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled f‘\’ ,
subs {5”@5630%&%32(,W1@W"“k -Gov/kar/201/009/260 him Collaborative for REMS Education @)
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Standards for Continuing Long-Term
Controlled Substances for Pain Cont'd

At least once every 3 months, obtain & review a current KASPER report, for the
12-month period preceding the request, & use that info to evaluate & treat the
patient

If the physician obtains specific info that the patient is not taking the controlled
substance as directed, is diverting a controlled substance, or is engaged in
improper or illegal controlled substance use, he/she shall immediately obtain &
review a KASPER report & use the info to evaluate & treat the patient

If a KASPER report discloses that the patient is obtaining a controlled substance
from another practitioner without the physician's knowledge & approval, in a
manner that raises suspicion of illegal diversion, promptly notify the other
practitioner of the relevant info from the KASPER review

Obtain consultative assistance from a specialist if appropriate

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled

substanices. 2013. www.Irc.ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.ntm ; . ”
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Standards for Continuing Long-Term ;‘
Controlled Substances for Pain Cont'd

If appropriate, conduct random pill counts & appropriately use that info to
evaluate & treat the patient

Utilize random & unannounced drug screens, appropriate to the controlled
substance & the patient's condition. If the drug screen or other available info
indicates that the patient is non-compliant:

» Do a controlled taper

» Stop prescribing or dispensing the controlled substance immediately; or

» Refer patient to an addiction specialist, mental health professional, pain management
specialist, or drug treatment program, depending upon the circumstances

Discontinue controlled substance treatment or refer the patient to addiction

management if:

* There has been no improvement in function & response to the medical complaint & related
symptoms, if improvement is medically expected

» Controlled substance therapy has produced significant AEs; or

» The patient exhibits inappropriate drug-seeking behavior or diversion

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled
substances. 2013. www.Irc ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm . .
Collaborative for REMS Education
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Kentucky All Schedule Prescription
Electronic Reporting (KASPER)

Database of all Schedule II-V controlled substances dispensed in or mailed
to Kentucky

Reports are available 24/7, typically within 15-20 seconds

If KASPER staff review is required, report will be available the next business day

Dispensers must upload info within 1 business day of dispensing; most data

is available in KASPER within 2-3 days after dispensing date

Providers may share the report w/ the patient & place it in the patient’s
medical record (the report is then deemed a medical record & subject to
disclosure on the same terms & conditions as an ordinary medical record)

Providers may discuss the report w/ another provider treating the patient,
the dispenser of the medication, or law enforcement if there is cause

Providers can run a reverse KASPER on their DEA # for a prescribing report

Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services. Kasper Frequently Asked Questions. https://ekasper.chfs.ky.gov/FAQ/FAQ.htm
KASPER Tips: The Prescriber Report, aka "Reverse KASPER'. www.chfs.ky. NR/rdonlyres/0C83B3B6-AEB5-40D5-B846-40EA752A52EA/0/KASPERTipsReverseKASPER. pdf

18 | © CO*RE 2013 Collaborative for REMS Education
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Prescription Drop Boxes ;‘

Prescription drop boxes are available across
Kentucky in conjunction w/ law enforcement
agencies & local governments

There are 173 locations in 110 counties, w/
sites being added daily

Visit http://odcp.ky.gov/Pages/Prescription-
Drug-Disposal-Locations.aspx to find a
location

Commonwealth of Kentucky. Office of Drug Control Policy. Find a Prescription Drug Disposal Location. http://odcp.ky.gov/Pages/Prescription-Drug-Disposal-

Locations.aspx . .
20 | © CO*RE 2013 Collaborative for REMS Education
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Additional Standards for Prescribing
Hydrocodone

Prior to the initial prescribing or dispensing of a controlled substance
containing hydrocodone, a physician shall:

Obtain a medical history & conduct a physical or mental health exam of the patient,
as appropriate to the patient's medical complaint, & document the info in the
patient's medical record

Query KASPER for the 12-month period preceding the patient encounter &
appropriately utilize that data to evaluate & treat the patient

Make a written plan stating the treatment objectives & further diagnostic exams
required

Discuss the risks & benefits of controlled substance use w/ the patient, patient's
parent if the patient is an unemancipated minor, or patient's legal guardian or
health care surrogate, including risk of tolerance & drug dependence

Obtain written consent for the treatment

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled
substances. 2013. www.lrc.ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm . . ’
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Additional Standards for Prescribing ,‘
Hydrocodone Cont'd

A physician prescribing or dispensing additional amounts of a controlled

substance containing hydrocodone for the same medical complaint &
related symptoms shall:

» Review, at reasonable intervals based on the patient's individual circumstances
& course of treatment, the plan of care

 Provide the patient any new info about the treatment

» Modify or terminate the treatment as appropriate

If the course of treatment extends beyond 3 months:

* Query KASPER no less than once every 3 months for all available data on the
patient for the 12-month period immediately preceding the query
 Review that data before issuing a new hydrocodone prescription or refill

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled
substances. 2013. www.Irc ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm . .
Collaborative for REMS Education
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Additional Standards for Prescribing ,‘
Hydrocodone Cont'd

Keep accurate, readily accessible, & complete medical records which

include, as appropriate:

* Medical history & physical or mental health exam

 Diagnostic, therapeutic, & laboratory results

 Evaluations & consultations

» Treatment objectives

 Discussion of risk, benefits, & limitations of treatments

* Treatments

* Medications, including date, type, dosage, & quantity prescribed or dispensed
* Instructions & agreements

* Periodic reviews of the patient's file

Kentucky Administrative Regulations. Title 201, Chapter 9. Board of Medical Licensure. 201 KAR 9:260. Professional stanaards for prescribing and dispensing controlled
substances. 2013. www.Irc ky.gov/kar/201/009/260.htm . .
Collaborative for REMS Education
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Additional Considerations for Opioid
Prescribing

Avoid prescribing benzodiazepines w/ opioids due to:

« Potential increase in opioid toxicity
* Increased risk of sleep apnea

 Increased risk of overdose deaths & other potential AEs

State Medical Board of Ohio. Governor’s Cabinet Opiate Action Team. Guidelines for Prescribing Opioidss for the Treatment of Chronic, Non-Terminal Pain
80 mg of a Morphine Equivalent Daily Dose (MED) “Trigger Point” 2013. www.opioidprescribing.ohio.gov/PDF/OARRS/Print Prescribing Guidelinesfor%20.p ,-\
)
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80 mg Morphine Equivalent Daily
Dose (MED) “Trigger Point”

If patient received opioids >80 mg MED for >3 continuous months, strongly

consider the following to optimize therapy & help ensure patient safety:

Reestablish informed consent, including providing the patient w/ written info on
potential AEs of long-term opioid therapy

Review patient’s functional status & documentation, including the “4A’s” of chronic
pain treatment:

 Activities of daily living « Analgesia
* Adverse effects * Aberrant behavior

Review treatment plan:

« Patient's response to treatment & progress toward treatment objectives
« Any modification to treatment plan to achieve a favorable risk-benefit balance

Utilize the Ohio Automated Rx Reporting System to check on patient compliance
Consider a patient pain treatment agreement, including more frequent office visits

Reconsider patient evaluation by other providers who specialize in the treatment of
the perceived source of the pain

State Medical Board of Ohio. Governor's Cabinet Opiate Action Team. Guidelines for Prescribing Opioids for the Treatment
of Chronic, Non-Terminal Pain 80 mg of a Morphine Equivalent Daily Dose (MED) “Trigger Point”. 2013.
www.opioidprescribing.ohio.gov/PDE/OARRS/Print Prescribing Guidelinesfor%20.p Collaborative for REMS Education
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80 mg Morphine Equivalent Daily
Dose (MED) “Trigger Point”

Further assess addiction risk or mental health concerns
Refer to an addiction medicine specialist when appropriate
If opioid therapy is continued, use clinical judgment &

decision-making consistent w/ accepted standards of care to
further reassess treatment

State Medical Board of Ohio. Governor’s Cabinet Opiate Action Team. Guidelines for Prescribing Opioids for the Treatment
of Chronic, Non-Terminal Pain 80 mg of a Morphine Equivalent Daily Dose (MED) “Trigger Point”. 2013. q
www.opioidprescribing.ohio.gov/PDF/OARRS/Print Prescribing Guidelinesfor%20.p Collaborative for REMS Education .“
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Ohio Automated Rx Reporting
System (OARRS)

Database of Schedule II-V controlled substances dispensed or mailed to
outpatients in Ohio, including samples dispensed by prescriber

Data reported daily

Prescribers who personally furnish opioids must report into OARRS

A “zero report” indicating no dispensing on a particular day is required daily

Prescribers of opioids must register w/ the OARRS

Registered prescribers can authorize employees as registered delegates to run
reports on their behalf

Delegates must use their own linked account & are not permitted to interpret the report

For questions contact the State Medical Board of Ohio at 1-614-466-3934

Ohio State Board of Pharmacy. OARRS. Frequently Asked Questions: HB 341 — Mandatory OARRS Registration and Requests. 2015. https://pharmacy.ohio.gov/Documents/Pubs
Special/FAQs/Frequently%20Asked%20Questions%20-%20HB%20341%20-%20Mandatory%200ARRS%20Registration%20and %20Requests.pdf

Ohio Administrative Code. 4731 State Medical Board. Chapter 4731-11 Controlled Substances. 4/31-11-11 Standards and procedures for review of "Ohio Automated Rx Reporting
System” (OARRS). 2011. http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4731-11-11

Ohio State Board of Pharmacy. OARRS. OARRS Acceptable Use Policy Prescriber. 2012. www.ohiopmp.gov/portal/docs.aspx

Ohio State Board of Pharmacy. OARRS. Important Changes to OARRS Reporting Fifective May 22, 2014. 2014. www.ohiopmp.gov/portal/docs.aspx

Ohio State Board of Pharmacy. OARRS. Reporting of controlled substances which are personally furnished by a prescriber. 2015. "\
A), )

www.ohiopmp.gov/Portal/Documents/Reporting9%20t0%200ARRS. pdf . .
8 | ©CO'RE 2013 Collaborative for REMS Education
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Ohio Automated Rx Reporting
System (OARRS)

A registered prescriber is authorized to request an Rx History Report only if:

« Request is for the purpose of providing medical treatment
» Prescriber has a current prescriber-patient relationship w/ the individual
« Patient has made an appointment or has been referred

Prescribers must request patient info from OARRS & document in patient record:

« Before initially prescribing opioids: request info for >1-year period
 If treatment >90 days, request info periodically at intervals <90 days

Exemptions:

« Hospice patients or inpatients of a hospital, nursing home, or residential care facility
« If amount is <7-day supply
« If OARRS report is not available (document unavailability in patient record)

If you practice in a county adjoining another state, you must request the other
state’s prescription drug information

Prescriber can include report in medical record & review info from report w/ patient

Prescriber may contact other providers listed on report to discuss info

ubs/Special/FAQs/Frequently%20Asked%20Questions%20-%20HB%20341%20-%20Mandatory%200ARRS%20Registration%20and%20Requests.pdf
hio State B f Ph . OARRS. OARRS A tabl Policy Pi ber. 2012. .ohi . tal/docs. . .
Ohio State Board of Pharmacy. OARRS. OARRS Acceptable Use Policy Prescriber. 2012. www.ohiopmp.gov/portal/docs aspXeollaborative for REMS Education
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Ohio Automated Rx Reporting
System (OARRS)

If prescriber believes patient may be abusing or diverting drugs:

Access OARRS & document result in records if patients exhibit signs of drug
abuse & diversion:

 Selling prescription drugs « Being arrested or convicted for a
» Forging or altering a prescription drug-related offense
 Stealing or borrowing reported drugs ¢ Receiving reported drugs from
 Increasing the dosage of reported multiple prescribers without
drugs in amounts that exceed clinical basis
prescribed amount » Having a family member, friend,
* Having a drug screen result that is law enforcement officer, or
inconsistent w/ treatment plan or healthcare professional express
refusing a drug screen concern related to patient's drug
use

Use sound clinical judgment to decide whether to prescribe reported drug

Ohio Administrative Code. 4731 State Medical Board. Chapter 4731-11 Controlled Substances. 4/31-11-11 Standards and procedures for review of "Ohio
Automated Rx Reporting System” (OARRS). 2011. http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4731-11-11
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Ohio Automated Rx Reporting
System (OARRS)

Consider accessing OARS if patient shows other signs of possible

abuse or diversion, including:

* A known history of chemical abuse or dependency

« Appearing impaired or overly sedated during an office visit or exam

« Requesting reported drugs by specific name, street name, color, or
identifying marks

« Frequently requesting early refills of reported drugs

» Frequently losing prescriptions for reported drugs

« A history of illegal drug use

« Sharing reported drugs with another person

» Recurring emergency department visits to obtain reported drugs

Ohio Administrative Code. 4731 State Medical Board. Chapter 4731-11 Controlled Substances. 4/31-11-11 Standards and procedures for review of "Ohio
Automated Rx Reporting System” (OARRS). 2011. http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4731-11-11 ,-\\
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COUNSELING PATIENTS &
CAREGIVERS ABOUT THE
SAFE USE OF ER/LA OPIOID
ANALGESICS -

Unitlv




Prescription Drug Disposal

Permanent drop-off locations

>60 located in Police Departments
& Sheriff's Offices in Ohio

To locate a drop-box, visit:
www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Indivi
duals-and-Families/Victims/Drug-
Diversion/Prescription-Drug-Drop-
Boxes
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GENERAL DRUG INFORMATION

FOR ER/LA OPIOID ANALGESIC
PRODUCTS 2
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SPECIFIC DRUG INFORMATION

FOR ER/LA OPIOID ANALGESIC
PRODUCTS =
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