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COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT 

A. Requirements for Licensure by Endorsement 

Chapter 454.13 of the Wisconsin Statutes states:  “Licensees of other jurisdictions".  (1)  Upon application and 
payment of the fee specified in sec. 440.05(2), the Examining Board may issue a license to practice barbering or 
cosmetology, aesthetics, electrology or manicuring or to practice as a cosmetology manager to an applicant who is 
licensed in another state or territory of the United States or in another country to perform services which are 
substantially the same as those performed by licensees in this state and to who either of the following applies: 

(a) The applicant has at least 4,000 hours of experience in licensed practice, has never been disciplined by the 
licensing authority of another jurisdiction and is not a party to a proceeding before the licensing agency in 
which it is alleged that the applicant was negligent in the licensed practice or violated the law relating to the 
licensed practice” 

B. Required Information to be submitted 

 1. Application for Licensure (Form #1681). 

 2. The fee listed below must accompany the completed application.  Please make check or money order payable to 
Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

Practitioner $ 82.00 
Manager $ 82.00 
Manicurist $ 82.00 
Electrologist $ 82.00 
Aesthetician $ 82.00 

 3. Verification of Employment (Form #1682) to verify 4,000 hours of licensed practice must be completed in its 
entirety by the manager/owner of the licensed establishment.  Any alterations will void this form. 

 4. Verification of Self-Employment (Form #2168) should only be completed if you owned a cosmetology 
establishment; not if you were employed by another establishment.  This form should be submitted with your 
application. 

 5. Certification (Form #373) to be completed by each state in which you have been issued a license.  You must hold 
a current license in at least one state.  The certification form must be sent by the state directly to our office. 

 6. If you are licensed in another country, you must submit acceptable documentation that you have met the legal 
requirements for practice in that country.  Documentation must be submitted to our office by the government of 
your country to substantiate you were licensed to perform services substantially the same as those performed by 
licensees in Wisconsin as required by Wisconsin Statutes sec. 454.13(1).  If your country does not issue a license, 
you will be required to apply for and pass the Wisconsin state board licensing examination (written and practical).  
A diploma or certificate issued by the school you had attended for the training is not acceptable. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
#1683 (Rev. 5/15)        Page 1 of 2 
Ch. 454, Stats. 

Committed to Equal Opportunity in Employment and Licensing 
 



Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services 
 
C. To qualify for licensure by examination: 

If you have not satisfied the endorsement requirements, you will need to qualify for licensure by examination.  On 
December 21, 2013, 2013 Wisconsin Act 114 became effective, allowing an applicant to take the state board 
exam before completing the educational requirement for their credential.  You will need to apply for the 
Wisconsin state board exam online with our vendor, Pearson Vue, at www.pearsonvue.com/wi/cos.  The fee for 
the exam is $391.00, and includes the fee for your first license.  Please review the Candidate Handbook posted on 
Pearson Vue’s website for information on how to apply, the content of the exams, etc.   
 
Chapter 454.06 of the Wisconsin Statutes requires graduation from a course of instruction in a school licensed in 
Wisconsin or is accredited by an accrediting agency approved by the board. 
 
If you have graduated from a school in another state with the same hours of education as required in this state 
(see below), you will need to do the following to qualify for licensure: 
 

1. Apply for and pass the current state board examination (both written and practical) with Pearson Vue. The 
fee for the exam is $391.00 and is paid to Pearson Vue. 

2. Contact the school you had attended and request that they complete our Certification of Training (Form 
#3044).  This form should be submitted directly to our office by the school. 

3. Your information will then be reviewed and a determination made as to your eligibility for licensure.  No 
additional fee will be required.  The licensure fee was included in the exam fee paid to Pearson Vue. 

 
If you have graduated from a school in another state with the same hours of education as required in this state 
(see below), you will need to do the following to qualify for a temporary permit: 
 

1. Apply for the current state board examination (both written and practical) with Pearson Vue.  The fee for 
the exam is $391.00 and is paid to Pearson Vue.  You may also apply for a temporary permit by paying 
an additional $10.00 to Pearson Vue. 

2. Contact the school you had attended and request that they complete our Certification of Training (Form 
#3044).  This form should be submitted directly to our office by the school. 

3. After we have received and approved this form, we will make you eligible for the temporary permit 
through Pearson Vue. 

 
Minimum Hours of Education Required: 
 Cosmetology Practitioner:  1,550 hours 
 Manicurist:  300 hours 
 Aesthetician:  450 hours 
 Electrologist:  450 hours 

 

D. Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code 

 A copy of the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code Relating to the Practice of Barbering and Cosmetology is 
available on the web at https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/ or at most public libraries.  If you wish to purchase a copy, 
you may purchase a hard print copy from Document Sales, Department of Administration.  Information for ordering a 
codebook may be found by calling Document Sales at 800-362-7253 or 608-264-9419 or by email at 
docsales@doa.state.wi.us.  

 
The Application for Licensure by Endorsement (Form #1681) should only be submitted if you have completed the 
requirements listed under Section A on Page 1.  
 
All licenses issued by the Cosmetology Examining Board will expire on March 31 of the odd-numbered year. 
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