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MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK THERAPY CREDENTIALING BOARD 

INFORMATION FOR MASSAGE THERAPIST OR BODYWORK THERAPIST 

 

LICENSURE ELIGBILITY REQUIREMENTS BASED ON METHOD OF APPLICATION: 

Licensure by Examination: An applicant is eligible for licensure as a Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist if the applicant: 

1. Completes and submits Application (Form #2960) and pays the fee specified in Wis. Stat. § 440.05(1). 

2. Submits a copy of current CPR/AED certificate from a DHS approved provider.  For a listing of approved providers go to 

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/License_certification/CPR.htm. 

3. Is 18 years of age or older. 

4. Has graduated from high school or attained high school graduation equivalency as determined by the Department of Public Instruction 

under Wis. Stat. § 115.29(4).  Complete Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Program Curriculum (Form #2962).  This form 

must be completed by your school and returned directly to the Department.  If your school is not Educational Approval Board (EAB) 

approved, you must also submit an official transcript. 

5. Passes the Wisconsin State Law Examination:  The Wisconsin Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy State Law Exam is an 

on-line open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Codes that govern Massage Therapists and Bodywork 

Therapists.  Candidates will be assigned an ID#, test name, and password after submitting an application. 

Important: (for Graduates From WI State Schools On Or After 1/1/12) You are required to take and pass this exam as a 

prerequisite to graduation.  Your Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy school should notify students when and where to complete 

the exam; it is recommended that the applicant complete the exam as soon as reasonable.  Upon completion of the exam, the applicant 

will be presented with the option to “Print test feedback report.”  The applicant must choose this option (“Print test feedback report”) 

to have the exam score available for review by the school (do not submit to DSPS).  DSPS does not have the ability to recall a 

score.  If the applicant fails to print the test feedback report when given the option, the applicant will be required to retake the exam 

and pay an additional fee. 

6. Has in effect malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for 

all occurrences in one year.  Malpractice Liability Insurance:   All applicants are required to submit a copy of a current certificate of 

malpractice liability insurance, which shows the amounts of coverage and expiration date. 

7. Has not been convicted of an offense under Wis. Stat. § 940.22, 940.225, 944.15, 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33, 944.34, 

948.02, 948.025, 948.08, 948.085, 948.09, 948.095, 948.10, or a comparable offense under federal law or a law of any other state. 

8. Subject to Wis. Stat. § 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats, has not been convicted of any other offense not listed in item (7) above, 

the circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy. 

9. Has passed one of the following nationally administrated examinations: 

 National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage  

 National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork 

 Asian Bodywork Therapy Examination of the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine  

 Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination 

National Score Report: NCBTMB, NCCAOM, or FSMBT 

Applicants who passed either of the National Certification Examinations of the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and 

Bodywork (NCBTMB).  Complete NCBTMB Official Score Report Request Form.  Attach appropriate fee and forward to address indicated on 

form.  Forms are available at http://www.ncbtmb.org.  Your scores must be returned directly to the Department from NCBTMB.  Scores 

received from the applicant will not be accepted. 

Applicants who have passed the Asian Bodywork Therapy Exam of the National Certification Commission of Acupuncture and Oriental 

Medicine (NCCAOM)  

Complete NCCAOM Request Form.  Attach appropriate fee and forward to address indicated on form.  

Forms are available at http://www.nccaom.org.  Your scores must be returned directly to the Department from NCCAOM.  Scores received from 

the applicant will not be accepted. 
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Applicants who have passed the Federation of State Massage Therapy Board’s (FSMTB) Massage and Bodywork Licensing 

Examination (MBLEx) 

Complete Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination Mobility Form.  Attach appropriate fee and forward to address indicated on form.   

Forms are available at http://www.fsmtb.org.  Your scores must be returned directly to the Department from FSMTB.  Scores received from the 

applicant will not be accepted. 

Temporary Licensure 

This provision applies only to those eligible for licensure by examination and who meet all other requirements for licensure, but who have not 

yet received scores from an approved nationally administered entry-level competency assessment examination. 

A temporary license expires 6 months after the date of issuance or when the Department receives notice that the temporary licensee has failed or 

passed the examination required by Wis. Stat. § 460.06, whichever is first.  

a. A temporary license may not be renewed; and 

b. No person shall be issued more than one temporary license. 

Practice under a temporary license shall be under the supervision of a licensed Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist, at the level of general, 

direct, or direct one-on-one supervision as necessary to avoid unacceptable risk of harm to the client.  The supervising Massage Therapist or 

Bodywork Therapist is responsible for determining the level of supervision necessary to avoid unacceptable risk of harm to the client, and is 

responsible for the acts of the temporary licensee. 

The supervisor may be subject to discipline for failure to appropriately supervise the temporary licensee and/or for failure to insure that, the 

temporary licensee adheres to the Board’s rules and the standards of minimal competence. 

The supervisor responsible for the temporary licensee shall ensure that clients know the temporary licensee is not fully licensed and that the 

supervisor is ultimately responsible for the care provided.  It is recommended that this information be documented in the client record. 

Licensure by Reciprocity: An applicant is eligible for reciprocal licensure as a Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist if the applicant: 

1. Completes and submits Application (Form #2960) and pays the fee specified in Wis. Stat. § 440.05(1). 

2. Holds a current similar license, registration or certificate to practice Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy in another U.S. state or 

territory or another country, the requirements for which are substantially equivalent to the requirements under Wis. Stat. § 460.05. 

“Substantially Equivalent” means the requirements must include either of the following: 

Certification by the NCBTMB or any other organization accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies to certify 

Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy;  

or 

Completion of at least 600 classroom hours of instruction in Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy at a school approved by an 

accrediting agency. 

3. Submits a copy of the rules and regulations currently in effect pertaining to the practice of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy in 

the jurisdiction from which the applicant wishes to reciprocate. 

4. Submits verification of a current license, registration or certification issued by another U.S. state or territory or province of another 

country.  You are required to have each jurisdiction in which you have ever been credentialed submit letters of verification to DSPS.  

The letters must indicate your date of birth, credential number, date of issuance, and a statement regarding disciplinary actions.  City or 

county certification/licensure does not meet the State licensure requirement nor will you need to submit verification from these 

jurisdictions. 

5. Passes the Wisconsin State Law Examination:  The Wisconsin Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy State Law Exam is an 

on-line open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Codes that govern Massage Therapists and Bodywork 

Therapists.  Candidates will be assigned an ID#, test name, and password after submitting an application. 

6. Has not been convicted of an offense under Wis. Stats. § 940.22, 940.225, 944.15, 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33, 944.34, 

948.02, 948.025, 948.08, 948.085, 948.09, 948.095, 948.10, or a comparable offense under federal law or a law of any other state. 

7. Subject to Wis. Stats. § 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, has not been convicted of any other offense not listed in Item (6) above, the 

circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy. 

8. Has in effect malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for 

all occurrences in one year.  Malpractice Liability Insurance:  All applicants are required to submit a copy of a current certificate of 

malpractice liability insurance, which shows the amounts of coverage and expiration date. 

9. Submit a copy of current CPR/AED certificate from a DHS approved provider.  For a listing of approved providers go to 

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/License_certification/CPR.htm. 

10. Has not engaged in conduct while practicing Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy that jeopardizes the health, safety, or welfare of a 

client or that evidences a lack of knowledge of, inability to apply, or the negligent application of, principles or skills of Massage 

Therapy or Bodywork Therapy. 
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MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK THERAPY CREDENTIALING BOARD 

APPLICATION FOR MASSAGE THERAPIST OR BODYWORK THERAPIST LICENSURE 

Under Wisconsin law, the Department must deny your application if you are liable for delinquent State Taxes or Child Support (Wis. Stats. § 440.12). 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN INK  
Your name and address are available to the public.  Check box to withhold street address/PO Box number from lists of 10 or 

more credential holders (Wis. Stat. § 440.14) 

Last Name First Name MI Former / Maiden Name(s) 

    

Address (street, city, state, zip) Daytime Telephone Number 

  -  -   

Mailing Address (if different) Date of Birth 

  /  /  

Social Security # 

 -  -  

Your Social Security Number or Employer Identification Number must be submitted with 

your application on this form.  If you do not have a Social Security Number, you must 

complete Form #1051.  The Department may not disclose the Social Security Number 

collected except as authorized by law. 

Ethnicity/gender status information is optional. 

Ethnicity:  White, not of Hispanic origin  American Indian or Alaskan  Hispanic 

  Black, not of Hispanic origin  Asian or Pacific Islander   Other 

Sex:  M   F 

Email Address 

 

Have you ever been licensed in WI as a Massage 

Therapist or Bodywork Therapist? 

 Yes  No If yes, provide credential number:  
 

Name of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy School  School Address (street, city, state) 

  

Date Completed (or anticipated completion date)  

 /  /  
 

APPLICATION FEES: Please check applicable box.  Make check payable to 

DSPS and attach to this application. 

For Receipting Use Only (146) 

 I am seeking a Veteran Fee Waiver (for Initial Credential Fee only, see 

page 2 for further information) 

 

 Licensure by Examination (applicants who have passed or plan to take  a 

nationally administered entry-level competency assessment examination that 

meets generally accepted psychometric principles and standards) 

 

 $ 75.00 Credential Fee  

 $ 75.00 State Law Exam  

 $ 150.00  DSPS Total Fee Attached  

 Request for a Temporary License (required in addition to the above DSPS 

Total Fee and is non-refundable) 

 

 $  10.00 Fee (This provision only applies to those eligible for licensure by 

examination.  Applicant must have met all other requirements for licensure 

except they have not received scores from an approved national examination.)  

 Licensure by Reciprocity (applicants who have a similar license or 
credential issued by another U.S. state or territory another county that is 

substantially equivalent) 

 

 $ 82.00 Credential Fee  
 $ 75.00 State Law Exam  

 $ 157.00  DSPS Total Fee Attached  
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APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED: 

 Application (Form #2960) and appropriate fee 

 Copy (front and back) of current CPR/AED card from DHS 

approved provider 

 Passage of the Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Exam 

 Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy Program Curriculum 

(Form #2962) (exam applicants only) and official transcripts if 

required. 

 Copy of Certificate of Insurance for malpractice liability policy 

showing applicant as policyholder and insured with coverage not 

less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all 

occurrences in one year. 

 Proof of passing National exam received directly from National 

Exam Services (exam applicants only) 

 Verification of licensure or certification from another state 

submitted directly from that state(s) board(s). 

 Copy of current law pertaining to licensure and practice of 

Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy in effect in the 

state(s) or jurisdiction(s) in which you were credentialed.  

The information is used to determine if the requirements for 

that license or certificate are substantially equivalent to the 

requirements under Wisconsin State Stat. § 460.05.  The 

statues and rules may be viewed at http://dsps.wi.gov 

(reciprocal applicants only) 

 Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252), if 

applicable 

 Suits or Claims (Form #2829) and copies of malpractice suit, 

court documents with allegations and settlement, if applicable  

ARE YOU A VETERAN?  If yes, please view the Department website at http://dsps.wi.gov  under “License, Permits, and Registrations and select 

Military Benefits Related to Licensure for Eligible Veterans Services Members and Spouses” for eligibility requirements. 

If you qualify, are you requesting a waiver of your initial credentialing fee?   Yes  No 

If Yes, provide a copy of your Department of Veterans Affairs voucher code and list your DVA Voucher Code Number:   

If you qualify, are you requesting equivalency of your Military Training and experience?   Yes  No 

If Yes, complete and return the Veteran Request Application Addendum (Form #2996).  This form must be included with this application.  

If you qualify, are you requesting Temporary Spousal Reciprocal License?   Yes  No 

If Yes, do not complete this form.  You must complete and return the Application for Temporary Spousal Reciprocal License (Form #2982).  

 

You may contact the DVA at 1-800-WisVets or www.WISVET.com for assistance in obtaining your DVA Voucher Code and/or documents 

related to your training. 

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION AND RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS:  Please view the Department website at http://dsps.wi.gov and select the 

“Professional Credential Renewal Information.” 

I AM OR HAVE BEEN LICENSED IN THE FOLLOWING STATE(S): (include all active and inactive states) 

          

For each credential listed above, you are required to have each State Board or territory of the United States submit a letter of verification to the 

Wisconsin Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy Examining Board.  The verification letter(s) must state your date of birth, credential number, date 

of issuance, and a statement regarding disciplinary actions. 

FOR TEMPORARY LICENSE ONLY: (Please check one) 

 I plan to take the next National Certifying Examination on  
 /  /  

 I have taken and passed the National Certifying Examination 
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ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS  (attach additional sheet(s) if necessary) 

1. Have you graduated from high school or attained high school graduation equivalency?  If yes, give details below.  Yes  No 

Name of High School 
 

Date of Graduation: 
 /  /  

Location (city, state, country) 

 

OR 

Granting Agency  

 

 Date High School Equivalency 

Obtained  

2. Are you familiar with the state health laws and rules and regulations of the Wisconsin Department of Health Services 

regarding communicable diseases? 

 Yes  No 

3. Have you ever failed to pass any state or national board accrediting examination in the field of Massage Therapy or 

Bodywork Therapy, including but not limited to the NCBTMB exams, MBLEx, NCCAOM (this does not include 

examinations taken solely as part of a Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy education program)?  If yes, provide 

details  

 

 Yes  No 

4. Have you ever surrendered, resigned, canceled, or been denied a professional license, or other credential in Wisconsin, 

or any other jurisdiction?  If yes, give details on an attached sheet, including the name of the profession and the 

agency. 

 Yes  No 

5. Has any governmental credentialing agency ever taken any disciplinary action against you, including but not limited to 

any warning, reprimand, suspension, probation, limitation, or revocation?  If yes, attach a sheet providing details 

about the action, including the name of the credentialing agency and date of action. 

 Yes  No 

6. Is disciplinary action pending against you in any jurisdiction?  If yes, attach a sheet providing details about pending 

action, including the name of the agency and status of action. 

 Yes  No 

7. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or a felony, or do you have any felony or misdemeanor charges 

pending against you?  If yes, submit Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252). 

 Yes  No 

8. Are you incarcerated, on probation, or on parole for any conviction?  If applicable, attach a sheet providing details 

including the terms of incarceration and a copy of a report from your probation or parole officer. 

 Yes  No 

9. Have any suits or claims ever been filed against you as a result of professional services?  If yes, submit a copy of the 

claim or suit and a copy of the final settlement or disposition and complete Malpractice Suits or Claims (Form 

#2829). 

 Yes  No 

10. Are you registered or licensed in any other profession(s)?  If yes, state what profession(s) and in what state(s): 

 

 Yes  No 

11. Have you ever been credentialed under any other name(s)?  If yes, state name(s) credentialed under: 

 

 Yes  No 
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For the purposes of these questions, the following phrases or words have the following meanings: 

"Ability to practice Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy " is to be construed to include all of the following: 

1. The cognitive capacity to make appropriate clinical diagnoses and exercise reasoned Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy judgments and to 

learn and keep abreast of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy developments; and 

2. The ability to communicate those judgments and Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy information to patients and other health care providers, 

with or without the use of aids or devices, such as voice amplifiers; and 

3. The physical capability to perform Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy tasks, with or without the use of aids or devices, such as corrective 

lenses or hearing aids.  

"Medical Condition" includes physiological, mental or psychological conditions or disorders, such as, but not limited to orthopedic, visual, speech, 

and hearing impairments, Cerebral Palsy, epilepsy, Muscular Dystrophy, Multiple Sclerosis, cancer, heart disease, Diabetes, mental retardation, 

emotional or mental illness, specific learning disabilities, HIV disease, tuberculosis, drug addiction and alcoholism.  

"Chemical Substances" is to be construed to include alcohol, drugs, or medications, including those taken pursuant to a valid prescription for 

legitimate medical purposes and in accordance with the prescriber's direction, as well as those used illegally.  

"Currently" does not mean on the day of, or even in the weeks or months preceding the completion of this application.  Rather, it means recently 

enough so that the use of drugs may have an ongoing impact on one's functioning as a licensee, or within the past two years.  

"Illegal use of Controlled Dangerous Substances" means the use of controlled dangerous substances obtained illegally (e.g. heroin or cocaine) as well 

as the use of controlled dangerous substances, which are not obtained pursuant to a valid prescription, or not taken in accordance with the directions 

of a licensed health care practitioner. 

12. Do you have a medical condition, which in any way impairs or limits your ability to practice Massage Therapy or 

Bodywork Therapy with reasonable skill and safety?  If yes, please explain. 
 Yes  No 

13. Does your use of chemical substance(s) in any way impair, or limit your ability to practice Massage Therapy or 

Bodywork Therapy with reasonable skill and safety?  If yes, please explain. 
 Yes  No 

14. Are the limitations or impairments caused by your medical condition reduced or ameliorated because you receive 

ongoing treatment (with or without medications) or participate in a monitoring program?  If yes, please explain. 
 Yes  No 

15. Are the limitations or impairments caused by your medical condition reduced, or ameliorated because of the field of 

practice, the setting, or the manner in which you have chosen to practice?  If yes, please explain. 
 Yes  No 

16. Have you ever been diagnosed as having, or have you ever been treated for pedophilia, exhibitionism, or voyeurism?  

If yes, please explain. 
 Yes  No 

17. Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of controlled dangerous substances?  Yes  No 

18. If yes, are you currently participating in a supervised rehabilitation program or professional assistance program, which 

monitors you in order to assure that you are not engaging in the illegal use of controlled dangerous substances?  If yes, 

please explain. 

 Yes  No 

CERTIFICATION OF LEGAL STATUS: 

I declare under penalty of law that I am (check one): 

 A citizen or national of the United States, or 

 A qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible to receive this professional license or credential as 

defined in the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunities Reconciliation Act of 1996, as codified in 8 U.S.C. §1601 et.  Seq. (PRWORA).  

For questions concerning PRWORA status, please contact the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services in the Department of Homeland 

Security at 1-800-375-5283 or online at http://www.uscis.gov. 

Should my legal status change during the application process or after a credential is granted, I understand that I must report this change to the 

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services immediately. 
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CONTINUING DUTY OF DISCLOSURE 

I understand that I have a continuing duty of disclosure during the application process.  If information I have provided in this application becomes 

invalid, incorrect or outdated, I understand that I am obliged to provide any necessary information to ensure the information on my application 

remains current, valid, and truthful.  I understand that Credentialing authorities may view acts of omission as dishonesty and that my duty of 

disclosure during the application process exists until licensure is granted or denied. 

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT 

I declare that I am the person referred to on this application and that all answers set forth are each and all strictly true in every respect.  I understand 

that failure to provide requested information, making any materially false statement and/or giving any materially false information in connection with 

my application for a credential or for renewal or reinstatement of a credential may result in credential application processing delays; denial, 

revocation, suspension or limitation of my credential; or any combination thereof; or such other penalties as may be provided by law.  I further 

understand that if I am issued a credential, or renewal, or reinstatement thereof, failure to comply with the statutes and/or administrative code 

provisions of the licensing authority will be cause of disciplinary action. 

By signing below, I am signifying that I have read the above statements (Certification of Legal Status, Continuing Duty of Disclosure, and Affidavit 

of Applicant) and understand the obligation I have as an applicant or credential-holder should information I’ve provided to the Department of Safety 

and Professional Services change. 

Signature:  Date:  /  /  
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