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Barbering & Cosmetology 2017 Renewal FAQs

(Pertains to all licenses issued by the Barbering & Cosmetology Examining Board)

When can | renew my license?
The renewal period opens February 10, 2017. The renewal deadline is March 31, 2017.

How can | renew my license?
For fastest renewal processing, log into our website beginning February 10, 2017 to renew:
https://online.drl.wi.gov/UserLogin.aspx

I don’t want to renew online — how can | get a paper form?
Contact our renewal office with your license number, email address, and mailing address to request renewal

forms. Call (608)266-2112 or email DSPSRenewal @wisconsin.gov.

If I miss the renewal deadline, can | still renew?
You can still renew the license as long as your license has not been expired for more than 5 years. There is a late
fee of $25.

What is the fee to renew?
The renewal fee is $82. If you are renewing an expired license, a late fee of $25 will be added.

Do | need to complete Continuing Education (CE) to renew?
e If your Initial License was issued on or after February 9, 2015 — No CE is required.
e If you are renewing a license that is expired , then you must complete the current CE requirements for
2017.

How do | change the name of my Establishment L icense?
When you renew online or with the paper form, report the new name. You can also log into our website at

https://online.drl.wi.gov/UserLogin.aspx to update the name of your business. Please note that name changes
are only available for establishments where ownership has not changed.

How do | transfer ownership of my Establishment License?
You cannot transfer ownership of the existing license. You must apply for a new license. Visit our website at

http://dsps.wi.gov/Licenses-Permits/Credentialing, click the Business Professions link, select your profession
from the list, and click on Applications Forms for complete details.

My Establishment is moving — how do | update my address?

You cannot change the location of the existing license. You must apply for a new license. Visit our website at
http://dsps.wi.gov/Licenses-Permits/Credentialing, click the Business Professions link, select your profession
from the list, and click on Applications Forms for complete details.
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Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
TRANSITIONING LICENSE QUESTIONS

Transitioning your license is no longer available.
If | transitioned from Cosmetology to Barbering. can | switch back later?

No. Once the license is transitioned to Barbering it cannot switch back to Cosmetology. If you wish to practice
Cosmetology in Wisconsin after transitioning to Barbering, you must apply for a new license.

INACTIVE 454 STATUS QUESTIONS

What is Inactive454 Status?

2011 Wisconsin Act 190 created statutory provisions for certain Barbering credentials and certain credentials
issued by the Cosmetology Examining Board to request Inactive Status. Inactive Status is available for those
credential holders who no longer intend to practice, but wish to be able to purchase product and keep the
credential current instead of letting it expire.

Who is allowed to go on Inactive454 Status?
Cosmetology Managers and Practitioners, Barbering Managers and Barbers, Aestheticians, Electrologists, and

Manicurists are eligible to request this status, and must meet certain criteriato be placed on Inactive 454 Status.

Who is NOT allowed to go on Inactive Status?
Schools, Instructors, and Establishments of Barbering, Cosmetology, Aesthetics, Electrology, and Manicuring are

not allowed to be placed on Inactive 454 Status.

What are the criteria | must meet to be placed on Inactive 454 Status?
e Your license status must be in good standing before being placed on Inactive 454 Status. So, if you

missed a previous renewal, you must complete the current Continuing Education requirements and pay the
$25 late fee (in addition to the prorated 2017 renewal fee) before you can be placed on Inactive 454
Status.

e If your license is current and not expired, you are exempt from completing the continuing education for
this Inactive 454 Status.

e You must complete the 2017 renewal application and pay a prorated renewal fee of $41 (add $25 if
renewing an expired license).

e You must submit Form R454 along with the renewal application and fees.

Can | apply for Inactive 454 Status online?
e Yes, at the time of renewal you can apply for the Inactive 454 Status online, excluding the payment, if

your license is current and active, and your license is NOT already in this status. You would want to walk
through the renewal process all the way up to the payment step, but DO NOT pay online if you are opting to
go into this status! If you pay online, you will be charged the full price of $82 instead of the reduced price of
$41 and you would then need to request a refund from the Department in writing via email, mail or fax.

Please note: If you pay online and request the refund after the fact, you will only receive a refund of $31 as there is
a $10 processing fee that is NOT refundable.

e If your license is already in the Inactive 454 Status, you will NOT be able to renew online and you will

automatically receive a renewal application and Form R454 to complete and return to the Department
once the renewal opens around the week of February 12, 2017.
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| am renewing late — can | still request Inactive 454 Status?
You may request Inactive 454 Status once your license is current and you have completed all necessary
requirements, including CE and have paid all associated fees.
e If you missed the 2015 renewal, you must complete the most current Continuing Education requirements
and pay the $25 late fee in addition to the $41 renewal fee, before you can be placed on Inactive 454
Status. You would need to contact the Department to request paperwork to be sent to you. Contact
information is listed at the end of this document.

Can | do any work on Inactive 454 Status?
Rules have been published which define minimal practice for Barbers. Barbers on Inactive 454 Status may not
receive compensation for barbering services and may not practice in a licensed barbering establishment.

Rules are still being written to define minimal practice for licenses issued by the Cosmetology Examining
Board. At this time, those applying for Inactive454 status must refrain from all practice. Rules will be published
soon which will define minimal practice.

Can | still purchase products at a discount on Inactive 454 Status?
Credentials on Inactive 454 Status are considered to be Current and eligible for the same professional discounts
extended to those who hold a credential on Active status.

| renewed. and then decided | want to go on Inactive 454 Status - Can 1? If so. can | get a refund of $41?
You can still apply for Inactive 454 Status. Complete and return Form R454 which can be found on our website.
Visit http://dsps.wi.gov/Licenses-Permits/Credentialing, click the Business Professions link, select your
profession from the list, and select Renewal Information to find the form.

To be eligible for a refund, you must request it within 18 months of the payment date and you must submit a
written request attesting that you have not worked with your credential even 1 day since it was renewed.
Include this written request with Form R454. If you worked even 1 day since the credential was renewed, you
are not eligible for a refund. The refund amount would be $31 as there is a $10 processing fee that is non-
refundable.

| went on Inactive 454 Status and now want to do back to work. What do | do?

You must meet all requirements of the current renewal (including CE), and submit your renewal form, a
written request for the credential to return to Active status, and the remaining $41 fee. Allow 10-15 business
days for processing. See contact information and mailing address below.

Does Inactive 454 Status Expire?
All Active licenses and Inactive 454 licenses expire on the same date. The credential status will change from

Inactive 454 to Expired just as an Active license will. DSPS will email notification of renewal or mail renewal
reminder postcards to credential holders with Inactive 454 status 6-8 weeks prior to the expiration date of
March 31, 2017.
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To request a paper renewal form or for other questions please email the renewal office with the following
information:

e License Number:

e Email Address:

e Mailing Address:

e Date of Birth (to verify your account):

e Last 4 of SSNto verify your account):

Please note:
e There may be long wait times if you call so please consider leaving a message instead of holding. Staff
will return calls within 48 hours.
e You can email the Department for information also at DSPSRenewal @wisconsin.gov. Please be patient
and we will get back to you within 2-5 business days.
e Emailing multiple emails and calling multiple times will only slow down the response time.

Department Contact Information

Department email: DSPSRenewal@wisconsin.gov
Department phone: 608-266-2112

Department secure fax line: 608-251-3036

You must submit Form R454 if you opt to go into the Inactive 454 Status, which can be found here. Visit our
website at http://dsps.wi.gov/Home for more information.
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